Testimonials

Skytech Solar has 19 5-Star Reviews on Yelp

Skytech Solar 5 Stars from YelpI learned about Skytech through the Peninsula Sunshares Program. They and SunRun were the two “certified” providers. SunRun contacted me first and sent out a very high pressure salesman. I had to give him $500 (refundable within 10 days) in order for them to make measurements to see how much power I could generate. They then told me they couldn’t get someone out to make the measurements for two weeks. In the mean time Skytech contacted me and said they would like to come out an make the measurements with no downpayment requirement. Joel came out and made the measurements and worked with me to figure out the best configuration for the installation. It was great to work with him. I cancelled the SunRun contract with some difficulty, and went with Skytech. I wanted to use a water pipe, formerly used for solar thermal heating for the swimming pool, to run the power from the roof to the garage where the inverter wold be installed. This way there would be no conduit running down the outside of the house. This is not a usual installation, and living in Palo Alto, anything unusual is typically rejected by the city. I also was concerned by horror stories I heard from other Palo Alto residents  who installed solar panels, about the difficulties encountered at final inspection due to Palo Alto’s unique electrical code. Skytech was able to get approval for the electrical power run I wanted (even though it took several rounds of discussion with the city to get approval), and final inspection went off without a hitch. During the installation process there were a couple of times when the workers couldn’t make it at the previously scheduled time, but I believe that was due to organizational growing pains since they got a lot more business from the Peninsula Sunshares Program than they expected. The bottom line is that they did a first class installation of a 39 panel system that works great and is practically invisible from the yard and street, and they were very easy to work with. Panels were installed early September (2015) and all has worked fine so far, generating more power than I expected.
Chris M.
Pleasant Hill, CASolar consultant, John, was extremely knowledgeable and ethical such that after reviewing my history of very low energy use and assessing the extensive amount of shade on my roof, it was determined that a solar system is not currently a good choice for my home.  Shows that Skytech is out to do the right thing and not just push another sale through! I was impressed with their communication, clear information and honesty even though I decided not to install.
Colin D.
Pacifica, CAI did a lot of research before going solar. After so many estimates,calls and reviews decided to go with Skytech Solar.

Skytech Solar 5 Stars from YelpSolar consultant, John, was extremely knowledgeable and ethical such that after reviewing my history of very low energy use and assessing the extensive amount of shade on my roof, it was determined that a solar system is not currently a good choice for my home.  Shows that Skytech is out to do the right thing and not just push another sale through! I was impressed with their communication, clear information and honesty even though I decided not to install.
Colin D.
Pacifica, CAI did a lot of research before going solar. After so many estimates,calls and reviews decided to go with Skytech Solar.

Skytech Solar 5 Stars from YelpI did a lot of research before going solar. After so many estimates,calls and reviews decided to go with Skytech Solar.
The employees are very knowledgeable in their fields. They showed me many options for cost,inverters, panels etc. Their customer service support was fantastic,and calls or emails were replied within a few hours. They went above and beyond of what was asked for.
Looking to many years of good service from this excellent team.
Mark A.
Redwood City, CAI looked at many solar companies and programs and am lucky to have found Skytech. They were the most thorough in analyzing the situation and have the highest standards and ethics. They gave me individual inverters for each panel and I am producing

Skytech Solar 5 Stars from YelpI looked at many solar companies and programs and am lucky to have found Skytech. They were the most thorough in analyzing the situation and have the highest standards and ethics. They gave me individual inverters for each panel and I am producing over the estimated values. I bought a plug in hybrid Ford Fusion and run on the sun.
They also did not want to put me on a zero down program with high interest rates that would cost more in the long run.I tell everyone about them.
sally k.
Redwood City, CASkytech Solar just finished our installation today, and we were really impressed with their efficiency and great service, as well as knowledge. Would recommend this company highly for all solar work.
Kiwi F.
Los Angeles, CA

Skytech Solar 5 Stars from YelpSkytech Solar just finished our installation today, and we were really impressed with their efficiency and great service, as well as knowledge. Would recommend this company highly for all solar work.
Kiwi F.
Los Angeles, CA
We heard about Skytech through the Peninsula SunShares presentation at our local library. Skytech had the most thorough in-home site survey of the three companies who gave quotes; they measured the best spots for panel placement on the roof and carefully thought about the best way to layout the conduit. Best of all they were the cheapest per watt.
Skytech rushed the design plans to meet our HOA review deadline so we wouldn’t have to wait an extra 6 weeks. The salesperson and office staff were available by email and phone to answer questions and always responded promptly. The installation took two days with crew arriving on time and leaving no mess. Skytech also handled all permit, city inspection, and PG&E paperwork.
Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for Solar in the Bay Area!
David B.
San Carlos, CAIt’s been a pleasure working with these guys. From the initial interaction with the sales guy who was not high pressure, shared the information I asked for and accommodated my requests in the design of the project. The installation went smoothly, with good communication around the timeline, turning up on time and getting the job done. I had a recent issue with a panel (which was delivering about 30% less power than the other panels), they handled all of the warranty side of things with the manufacturer and installed the replacement. I recommend them to anyone who asks. 
Quick S.
Burlingame, C

It’s been a pleasure working with these guys. From the initial interaction with the sales guy who was not high pressure, shared the information I asked for and accommodated my requests in the design of the project. The installation went smoothly, with good communication around the timeline, turning up on time and getting the job done. I had a recent issue with a panel (which was delivering about 30% less power than the other panels), they handled all of the warranty side of things with the manufacturer and installed the replacement. I recommend them to anyone who asks. 
Quick S.
Burlingame, C

We found Skytech Solar through the Peninsula SunShares program.  I have tried to get a solar company through Sunshares FOUR TIMES to come take a look at our roof and Skytech was the only one willing to do so.  The other companies thought our installation was either too small (i.e. disguised as we didn’t use enough electricity to warrant a PV system) or would not work on clay tile roofs (that was Sunrun).  Skytech was willing to come out to talk with us and look at our 2-tier clay tile roof.  The rep provided us a very thorough analysis of what were the possibilities, the cost and the pay-back period.  The installers were very professional, got the job done on our 2-tier clay tile roof and managed all the PG&E paperwork.  We were able to install a 12-panel PV system.  They even communicated with us through the weekend to trouble-shoot a problem we had with the monitoring device.  Fantastic customer service.
Unlike other companies who will only install at least a 10-panel system, Skytech is willing to install as small as an 8-panel system.
Derell L.
Fremont, CA

It’s a little difficult to know how to evaluate this project; it is the largest project, in both time and cost, that I’ve ever had done on our home.  I don’t really have anything to compare against, in evaluating them.  So I’ll compare against other, smaller contracting jobs that I’ve had done, as best as I can.

The good:
– I had much confidence in the original sales person that I dealt with; unlike the other solar company that I contacted, he did not give me a high-pressure sales assault, he just talked about what they offered, how they would evaluate my requirements to design my system, and answered all questions clearly.
– Everybody that I dealt with at Skytech Solar, responded promptly and completely to my email queries, either to provide status or answer questions.
– All work, with one exception (covered later) was done quickly and with excellent quality.  The county building-inspector visit went smoothly and quickly; everything was completely up to code, he gave his approval and was gone in about half an hour.
Not so good:
– The price included about $2600 to replace our 50-year-old power panel in back.  I was aware of this issue from previous dealings with it, so was not surprised.  The contractor that handled this task, was quite skilled in electrical work, but when he went to re-install the stucco around the edges, he did an appalling job; stucco spread all over the panel, bulging out up to 1″ in some areas, not even flush with the wall in others.  He kept justifying this by saying “I’m really not good at applying stucco”; but I wish he’d just left that job for someone else to do.  By the time Skytech people came by to look at it, it was hard as rock, couldn’t even be chiseled.  At that point, I really didn’t want to deal with tearing it all out and doing it over, so I told them to just paint over it (it’s in the back of house, so rarely seen by anyone).  Still, it left a bit of bad taste in my mouth.  This is the only less-than-professional aspect to the entire experience.
Also, it took over 5 months from signing the contract to turning on the power; I had hoped to use the 30% federal tax credit on this year’s taxes, but it took too long to get the job done.  I have *no* idea if this is standard for such a large job, maybe it is.
Anyway, the system is installed and running, and runs beautifully!!  They designed the system to generate 110% of our average usage over previous two years, and it’s generating very well; the first day was mostly cloudy, and it was still generating up to 1.9KW; maximum output is 4KW.  I like being able to log into the system with a web browser, and monitor its output.
We are quite happy with our solar installation, and recommend Skytech Solar to anyone else who wants to do this.
Tanya C.
Orinda, CAI recently had Skytech Solar install our solar panels and we are extremely happy.  They are professional and pay attention to detail.  The process from start to finish was extremely efficient, from the initial consultation, through to the quote and contract process, as well as the installation.  They take care of the permitting with your city as well as following up with PGE to get your system connected with PGE.  The whole process from signed contract, installation and permission to operate took 6 weeks.  All of the employees from the appraiser to the installers were extremely polite and professional and easy to work with.  Colin, the owner is very professional and extremely knowledgable about solar energy and solar

I recently had Skytech Solar install our solar panels and we are extremely happy.  They are professional and pay attention to detail.  The process from start to finish was extremely efficient, from the initial consultation, through to the quote and contract process, as well as the installation.  They take care of the permitting with your city as well as following up with PGE to get your system connected with PGE.  The whole process from signed contract, installation and permission to operate took 6 weeks.  All of the employees from the appraiser to the installers were extremely polite and professional and easy to work with.  Colin, the owner is very professional and extremely knowledgable about solar energy and solar panels, and was able to guide us on selecting the right system for our needs.  I would highly recommend Skytech Solar.
Jeffrey D.
Brisbane, CAIt’s been about 10 months now since I had Skytech do my solar panels.  I participated through PeninsulaIt’s been about 10 months now since I had Skytech do my solar panels.  I participated through Peninsula Sunshares and got calls from Sunrun and Skytech.  I gave Skytech my business because they responded first.  It took Sunrun weeks to respond.  Skytech was also not pushy.  I dealt with their sales person Brian and had a wonderful experience with him.

It’s been about 10 months now since I had Skytech do my solar panels.  I participated through Peninsula Sunshares and got calls from Sunrun and Skytech.  I gave Skytech my business because they responded first.  It took Sunrun weeks to respond.  Skytech was also not pushy.  I dealt with their sales person Brian and had a wonderful experience with him.
The installation was completed in 3 to 4 visits.  The electrician was very knowledgeable.  I was so glad to see my electricity bills go down after it was running and even further when PG&E approved the installation.
When I got my first bill from PG&E after the solar installation project, my bill was down to $26.  Those are the minimum fees.  Love it when my bill went from ~$250 to $26.
When it started raining earlier this year, there was a time when my roof had a leak.  My first inkling was it was due to the solar panel work.  We called Skytech and they came immediately.   Turns out it had nothing to do with the solar panels as the leak was a distance away from any of the panels.  But guess what?  They patched the leak without charging anything.  How about that for customer service?
I have referred Skytech to so many of my neighbors and every single one of the houses that went solar on our street went with Skytech.
Vincent C.
San Francisco, CS

Skytech Solar is a very professional and reliable company.  Mat Ventre, the director of Marketing, is very friendly, loyal, straight forward and cooperative.  Rates are competitive.  
Sungate Energy installed my solar panels 4 years ago: it’s not a company I would recommend.  Due to my neighbor’s construction project, my panels will be blocked and need to be moved, after a sun-eye analysis.  Skytech did the analysis and moved my panels accordingly, on schedule and no hassle, about 2 weeks ago.

Skytech Solar is a very professional and reliable company.  Mat Ventre, the director of Marketing, is very friendly, loyal, straight forward and cooperative.  Rates are competitive.  
Sungate Energy installed my solar panels 4 years ago: it’s not a company I would recommend.  Due to my neighbor’s construction project, my panels will be blocked and need to be moved, after a sun-eye analysis.  Skytech did the analysis and moved my panels accordingly, on schedule and no hassle, about 2 weeks ago.  Inspite of the partial blocking of my solar panels, they are supposed to generate more electricity now than ever before, since Sungate messed up the installation.  
I’m waiting for my 1st PG&E statement to confirm the additional electricity to be generated.  Then, I will give Skytech a 5 star rating for sure.

I will not hesitate to recommend Skytech Solar!!!
Inglis V.
San Francisco, CAI am happy with my new system. It’s a good feeling knowing that my carbon fingerprint is quite a bit smaller now that I have six solar panels on my roof. Skytech has done a great job to accommodate my various requests. They are a personable lot. I have particularly enjoyed working with Jonathan, Joel and the young war vet (such an amazingly poised

I am happy with my new system. It’s a good feeling knowing that my carbon fingerprint is quite a bit smaller now that I have six solar panels on my roof. Skytech has done a great job to accommodate my various requests. They are a personable lot. I have particularly enjoyed working with Jonathan, Joel and the young war vet (such an amazingly poised 21 year old). I can now view the performance of my panels at any interval (hour, day, month, year) online! If a problem arises, I will notice it not only my looking at the monitoring unit in my house but also at the highly readable data online. Thanks, Skytech.
Bob W.
San Francisco, CA

After deciding to install a large system of solar panels on my roof in San Francisco, I asked for proposals from four different local companies. As I learned more about solar, my ideas on what to install went through several revisions. Jon Dickson ,  solar consultant at Skytech,  patiently  and promptly followed all my changes, providing  information and modified quotes as requested.   Moreover, Skytech  sent out their technician Joel  for a site visit , at a stage when my interest was still quite tentative. Joel spent almost an hour on my roof to assess my needs, and gave the impression of someone I could work with on every detail. Later Skytech put me in touch with one of their clients, who gladly showed me his system, nearly the same as the one I wanted.  The installation looked neat and tidy, and their customer was quite satisfied.  I also got to meet the electricians employed by the company,   Dave and  Dave. Jr., who made a good impression in describing the work they would do in a necessary upgrade of my PG&E service.  

With the three other companies I found it difficult to get a good reading of their
competence, and they were much slower in responses to questions and requests. Also, Skytech’s final bid was lower than the others, one of which was a great deal higher.    With the promise of the best service at the best price, I could only choose Skytech.
 
The installation of 26 Suniva panels with a central Power One inverter was done by Joel and Hakim and the electricians,  efficiently and neatly in 2 1/2 days.  The power production is up to prediction and really impressive, considering that I live in the foggiest part of the city.

I found everyone at the company a pleasure to work with, and recommend them highly.
Dolores W.
San Francisco, CA
i recently had Skytech Solar install solar in my home. They inspected my electrical and brought everything up to code.  The paper work was done with out a glitch and the staff was friendly and efficient. Best of all I am now helping the environment!!!!!
jack c.
San Francisco, CA
We were looking for a Solar Company to help us make a decision about feasibility of solar powering our home.  Skytech team came out and spoke with us, provided good insights and overall had a ver low pressure approach.  I worked with the Colin the CEO, Matt & John.  They were all very professional. In the end we looked at several Solar Installation companies and decided on Skytech.  The whole process from first meeting to installation & inspection took about six weeks.  I’d highly recommend the team at Skytech.
Lexie T.
San Francisco, CA
I’m not exactly sure how it happened, but I became a fan of Skytech because Sungevity hired them to install my solar panels.  Skytech was on time and did what they came to do.  The electrician, Joel, went above and beyond and totally made himself available for post-install questions.  Super nice guy.  I feel like Matt is my new best friend after talking with him on the phone a bunch of times.  Really personable.  Not just smart and friendly, sincerely nice.  Great customer service and quick response time.  I felt completely catered to.  

I don’t expect much or demand much and  I like to simplify and accommodate as much as possible.  I was well-rewarded for my lack of effort:  When the electrical inspector tried to make trouble due to the width of my alley (breaker box spec code), Skytech gently presented documents proving that a prior inspector approved the box specs (30 years ago) and I was up and running!  It could have been a paperwork disaster but I had the nicest bunch of folks you could ever hope to do business with on my side.

I also feel fairly certain that they know what they’re doing.
SKYTECH!!!!
Felix K.
San Francisco, CA
I had Skytech Solar installed 9 piece of solar panels at my house. The work was not only superb but also amazing customer services. This company used the best solar panel in the industry for achieving the highest watt/panel efficiency and trouble free panel. Now, I am able to save hundreds of dollars per month and also able to monitor how each panel perform daily. After the installation, Skytech Solar helped me turn in the rebate forms and walk me through how to operate the solar system. I had this system for the last three years, there are nothing need to do except to clean the surface of the panels with water once per year. I am very satisfy of the job, their customer services,the quality work and product they put in to my house. I am strongly recommend Skytech Solar for any size of project. Recently, Skytech Solar help to install the Solar panel at my brother ‘s house.
Leon P.
San Francisco, CA
I would highly recommend Skytech Solar not only did we get the most kilawatts for the dollar but they did a great job on the installation, pushing through our tax and rebate forms. Now are PG&E electric bill is $17.50 for 2015.
Mark S.
San Francisco, CA
Definitely get a estimate from Skytech Solar. They know what they are doing and are very competitive. Joel, their project manager, was one of the best I met. The only reason I didn’t go with them was I went with a solar/roof installation package at the same time. 
Skytech Solar said they could do the same type of package in partnership with a roofing company down on the peninsula. The roofing company didn’t seem to have it together in getting a bid done. Even though I gave them very detailed measurements of my roof and earlier the guy said he would come by never did. Ran out of time and went with a different Solar/roofing, but I had really wanted to go with Skytech Solar. If could have had them and the other roofing company I went with I would have had the best of both worlds
Tom D.
San Francisco, CA
I shopped around many other before going with these guys.  First of all, they were the cheapest!  But they seemed like they were the most thorough,  and indeed they rocked!!!  From working on my (old) house and fixing up some old electrical stuff that took an extra half of day, to asking me about if i cared about various small details on how they did it, and most importantly, following up with the tax credit even 6 months (due to an SF rebate freeze) after everything was installed and payed for!!!!!   Since then, I’ve talked to other friends about their experiences, and I scored by getting these guys.  I super-highly recommend them!!!!!  
p.s. i meant to write a review after PGE signed off, but just remember now as they got my rebate for me.
Peter M.
Hayes Valley, San Francisco, CA
My wife and I contacted all of the solar companies listed on the GoSolarSF tax rebate program and we are happy we chose Skytech Solar. They are a small company but have a great deal of experience installing solar panels and they gave a very competitive bid.
The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The panels and PG&E connection were up and running within a month. They handled all of the paperwork for PG&E and the tax rebate. 
We couldn’t be happier and would recommend them to our friends.
John C.
San Francisco, CA
We too checked out solar from a few companies, and went with Skytech due to their great customer service and reasonable prices.  Despite a very busy schedule, they were able to fit us in on time, and at budget.  We even had them arrange some extra electrical and roof work, which worked out very well.  Highly recommended.
Steven H.
San Francisco, CA
Let me first say, I do not typically write reviews. This review was based on an exceptional experience. 
Skytech solar has completed two projects for us. If you’re looking to hire a Bay Area solar contractor, I highly recommend Skytech solar. Here are my few reasons why:

We were greeted by three professional men who managed our projects. Colin, Mat, and Jon dropped by our house and provided a thorough consultation about the solar installation process. Now, if you’re like me who is serious about solar installation but don’t have prior knowledge or experiences, rest assure with Skytech solar. I was completely satisfy with the consultation and installation (mentioned below). I won’t go into the discussion, however I will say Skytech solar was very organized and guided me every step of the way. 

Installation was explained to us in great detail during the consultation. They made sure we knew what had to occur before and after installation, in order to comply with the rebates offered by the city and state. They installed our seven panels and the panels were up and running the same day. We haven’t had any problems since the day of installation. Without a doubt, our PGE bills reflected spectacular work of Skytech solar.
EXTRA KUDOS TO MAT. Give him a call and you’ll quickly find he’s friendly and resourceful. He’s a primary reason why I am confident in my solar installation process. For instance, he explained and helped us fill out paperwork that would otherwise be difficult to complete alone. Thank you Mat!
Dolores W.
San Francisco, CA
i recently had Skytech Solar install solar in my home. They inspected my electrical and brought everything up to code.  The paper work was done with out a glitch and the staff was friendly and efficient. Best of all I am now helping the environment!!!!!
If anyone is considering having solar panels installed, now seems to be the perfect time… Skytech Solar installed our panels… great work–we’re extremely satisfied with the results, and they’re offering special rebates for a limited time. You can take advantage of the rebates, plus have the panels installed within a few weeks from sign-up, they said. We’re really glad we did this, and our electric bills have been virtually nothing after they were up and turned on. We had them install 16 panels, by the way.
M. West, San Francisco
I am an 80-year-old widower and you have helped me so much in reducing my bill. Your customer service was excellent before you installed. But even after the few times I have called you, you had someone out that day or by the next day and fixed whatever issue I had. Thank you so much.
G. Gregory, San Francisco
I have had Skytech Solar do the solar on six of my San Francisco properties. They included a 7 Panel Array, using Sharp ND-L235Q2 panels and an Enphase Energy Inverter. The CEC-AC System Rating 1.425 kW-ptc. was the most recent one. The crew was personable, they were prompt and did their jobs professionally. I have recommended this customer and have sent them potential customers. I have a hard time giving anyone a 10 on a 1-10 rating, but 10 it is. I have had very good communications with everyone I have talked to and dealt with from the office staff to the installers. I am sure that I will be sending more business their way.
J. Tostanoski, San Francisco
Since you installed free solar panels on my roof in 2010, the time for an actual review of the success has come. I was initially impressed with your expertise on the benefit of installing solar panels. After installation, I have been happy to feel the financial benefits. “The panels are feeding back to the grid during daytime, I came to the realization that my overall energy cost reduction is in the 50 to 60 % annually, with variables depending on the seasons. Your company and crew were extremely well prepared for the installation itself, it went absolutely smooth. Let me, please, thank you again for the excellence of the work done.
D. Hatt, San Francisco
I like the services of Skytech, when they install my solar panels. I put in a new roof prior to their installation. After their installation, I had a small leak, which I report to Skytech and Mr. J. Weigal; the operation manager came over the next day (Saturday) and as a former roofer fixed it. Then he has his people came over three times to paint over the spots on my ceiling due to the leaks. Ceiling looks like new.
I was so happy with this service, that I refer them to three of my friends, who also did solar panels with Skytech. As a local company in San Francisco, you can get a $2700 rebate from the city of San Francisco. They help me filing out the various forms that the city required and the numerous inquiries needed to get the rebate. I would recommend that you should have the $2700 check paid to Skytech and they then will reimburse you, thus saving possible income tax on this rebate. The city will send you a form 1099 for this $2700.
I admit that I have a minor problem with the administration aspect with Skytech, but the owner Mr. Colin Swan took care of it immediately.
My house sit on top of Diamond Hts, so I get the 50 mph winds, I have no problems with these winter storms after the solar panels were installed.
I highly recommend Skytech operation crew for their excellent job in installing my solar panels.
Brian H.
San Francisco, CA
I am happy with my new system. It’s a good feeling knowing that my carbon fingerprint is quite a bit smaller now that I have six solar panels on my roof. Skytech has done a great job to accommodate my various requests. They are a personable lot. I have particularly enjoyed working with Jonathan, Joel and the young war vet (such an amazingly poised 21 year old). I can now view the performance of my panels at any interval (hour, day, month, year) online! If a problem arises, I will notice it not only my looking at the monitoring unit in my house but also at the highly readable data online. Thanks, Skytech.
Inglis V.
San Francisco, CA
Skytech Solar is a very professional and reliable company. Mat Ventre, the director of Marketing, is very friendly, loyal, straight forward and cooperative. Rates are competitive.
Sungate Energy installed my solar panels 4 years ago: it’s not a company I would recommend. Due to my neighbor’s construction project, my panels will be blocked and need to be moved, after a sun-eye analysis. Skytech did the analysis and moved my panels accordingly, on schedule and no hassle, about 2 weeks ago. Inspite of the partial blocking of my solar panels, they are supposed to generate more electricity now than ever before, since Sungate messed up the installation.
I’m waiting for my 1st PG&E statement to confirm the additional electricity to be generated. Then, I will give Skytech a 5 star rating for sure.
I will not hesitate to recommend Skytech Solar!!!
Vincent C.
San Francisco, CA
I learned about Skytech through the Peninsula Sunshares Program. They and SunRun were the two “certified” providers. SunRun contacted me first and sent out a very high pressure salesman. I had to give him $500 (refundable within 10 days) in order for them to make measurements to see how much power I could generate. They then told me they couldn’t get someone out to make the measurements for two weeks. In the mean time Skytech contacted me and said they would like to come out an make the measurements with no downpayment requirement. Joel came out and made the measurements and worked with me to figure out the best configuration for the installation. It was great to work with him. I cancelled the SunRun contract with some difficulty, and went with Skytech. I wanted to use a water pipe, formerly used for solar thermal heating for the swimming pool, to run the power from the roof to the garage where the inverter wold be installed. This way there would be no conduit running down the outside of the house. This is not a usual installation, and living in Palo Alto, anything unusual is typically rejected by the city. I also was concerned by horror stories I heard from other Palo Alto residents who installed solar panels, about the difficulties encountered at final inspection due to Palo Alto’s unique electrical code. Skytech was able to get approval for the electrical power run I wanted (even though it took several rounds of discussion with the city to get approval), and final inspection went off without a hitch. During the installation process there were a couple of times when the workers couldn’t make it at the previously scheduled time, but I believe that was due to organizational growing pains since they got a lot more business from the Peninsula Sunshares Program than they expected. The bottom line is that they did a first class installation of a 39 panel system that works great and is practically invisible from the yard and street, and they were very easy to work with. Panels were installed early September (2015) and all has worked fine so far, generating more power than I expected.
Wally P.
Palo Alto, CA
Solar consultant, John, was extremely knowledgeable and ethical such that after reviewing my history of very low energy use and assessing the extensive amount of shade on my roof, it was determined that a solar system is not currently a good choice for my home. Shows that Skytech is out to do the right thing and not just push another sale through! I was impressed with their communication, clear information and honesty even though I decided not to install.
Chris M.
Pleasant Hill, CA
After deciding to install a large system of solar panels on my roof in San Francisco, I asked for proposals from four different local companies. As I learned more about solar, my ideas on what to install went through several revisions. Jon Dickson , solar consultant at Skytech, patiently and promptly followed all my changes, providing information and modified quotes as requested. Moreover, Skytech sent out their technician Joel for a site visit , at a stage when my interest was still quite tentative. Joel spent almost an hour on my roof to assess my needs, and gave the impression of someone I could work with on every detail. Later Skytech put me in touch with one of their clients, who gladly showed me his system, nearly the same as the one I wanted. The installation looked neat and tidy, and their customer was quite satisfied. I also got to meet the electricians employed by the company, Dave and Dave. Jr., who made a good impression in describing the work they would do in a necessary upgrade of my PG&E service.
With the three other companies I found it difficult to get a good reading of their
competence, and they were much slower in responses to questions and requests. Also, Skytech’s final bid was lower than the others, one of which was a great deal higher. With the promise of the best service at the best price, I could only choose Skytech.
The installation of 26 Suniva panels with a central Power One inverter was done by Joel and Hakim and the electricians, efficiently and neatly in 2 1/2 days. The power production is up to prediction and really impressive, considering that I live in the foggiest part of the city.
I found everyone at the company a pleasure to work with, and recommend them highly.
Bob W.
San Francisco, CA
i recently had Skytech Solar install solar in my home. They inspected my electrical and brought everything up to code. The paper work was done with out a glitch and the staff was friendly and efficient. Best of all I am now helping the environment!!!!!
Dolores W.
San Francisco, CA
I did a lot of research before going solar. After so many estimates,calls and reviews decided to go with Skytech Solar.
The employees are very knowledgeable in their fields. They showed me many options for cost,inverters,panels etc. Their customer service support was fantastic,and calls or emails were replied within a few hours. They went above and beyond of what was asked for.
Looking to many years of good service from this excellent team.
Colin D.
Pacifica, C

“I have a hard time giving anyone a 10 on a 1-10 rating, but 10 it is.”
“I have had Skytech Solar do the solar on six of my San Francisco properties. They included a 7 Panel Array, using Sharp ND-L235Q2 panels and an Enphase Energy Inverter. The CEC-AC System Rating 1.425 kW-ptc. was the most recent one. The crew was personable, they were prompt and did their jobs professionally. I have recommended this customer and have sent them potential customers. I have a hard time giving anyone a 10 on a 1-10 rating, but 10 it is. I have had very good communications with everyone I have talked to and dealt with from the office staff to the installers. I am sure that I will be sending more business their way.”
– J. Tostanoski, San Francisco
“Skytech corrected (someone else’s) work, replaced/removed unnecessary brackets, and re-roofed the disturbed areas.”
“Skytech Solar has done two projects for me, one is a 26 Sharp 240 panel with Enphase micro inverters in San Bruno and the other is six Sharp 240 panels with Enphase micro inverters in San Francisco. I searched for quite a while and as a Planning Commissioner, I have had the opportunity to speak to a lot of people selling and promoting solar. Colin & Steve more than met my expectations.
“We first had to deal with correcting the installation of the roof mounting brackets that another company put on the roof. Next we had to change the design, and in the end we changed the design another time as better panels had become available… Skytech corrected his work, replaced/removed unnecessary brackets, and re-roofed the disturbed areas. There have been no leaks or areas of concern with the roof.
“In fact as a Planning Commissioner here in San Bruno the building inspectors gave the project a more thorough than ordinary inspection. The project was approved the first inspection.
“I use the solar system on my home as a working display/example of a good solar installation for members of my community. Skytech has also done the solar for me on a rental home that I have in San Francisco under the GoSolar program. Once again there were no problems and I am delighted with the finished product. I give them a 10 rating out of 10: I realize that while this seems to be a glowing report the people of Skytech Solar have earned it!
“We are very happy with both projects Skytech has done for us and recommend them very highly. They really believe in solar and work very hard to ensure that each installation is a success. They have impressed me as people who are in this for the long term and not just in it for a fast buck. You are more than welcome to call or email me with further questions. You are also welcome to visit the installation in San Bruno if you wish.
– R. Biasotti, Planning Commissioner, San Bruno
“We’re extremely satisfied with the results…”
“If anyone is considering having solar panels installed, now seems to be the perfect time… Skytech Solar installed our panels… great work–we’re extremely satisfied with the results, and they’re offering special rebates for a limited time. You can take advantage of the rebates, plus have the panels installed within a few weeks from sign-up, they said. We’re really glad we did this, and our electric bills have been virtually nothing after they were up and turned on. We had them install 16 panels, by the way.”
– M. West, San Francisco
“My overall energy cost reduction is in the 50 to 60 % annually on a free solar roofing system.”
“Since you installed free solar panels on my roof in 2010, the time for an actual review of the success has come. I was initially impressed with your expertise on the benefit of installing solar panels. After installation, I have been happy to feel the financial benefits.
“The panels are feeding back to the grid during daytime, I came to the realization that my overall energy cost reduction is in the 50 to 60 % annually, with variables depending on the seasons.
Your company and crew were extremely well prepared for the installation itself, it went absolutely smooth. Let me, please, thank you again for the excellence of the work done.”
– D. Hatt, San Francisco
“You have helped me so much in reducing my bill.”
“I am an 80-year-old widower and you have helped me so much in reducing my bill. Your customer service was excellent before you installed. But even after the few times I have called you, you had someone out that day or by the next day and fixed whatever issue I had. Thank you so much.”
– G. Gregory, San Francisco
“Another freakishly unusual experience for me. The team was considerate and respectful, courteous and polite. It was a pleasure having them here.”
Wally P.
Palo Alto, CA